I am a criminal


A piece a friend contributed for my blog:

To look at me, I am another well adjusted man in his 40’s. I have a good job, and work long hours. I am married, and have a dog that everyone falls in love with. I am intelligent, well read, and well travelled. I volunteer time and donate money to various causes. I have a nice house and a nice car. I have friends of all ages, and all walks of life.

But- I am a criminal. I use illegal drugs. You see- when I get home from work I’d often rather smoke a little cannabis then pour a drink. It takes the edge off better for me, and quite frankly, I have seen alcohol do too much damage to friends and family.

And once or twice a year I may do MDMA, LSD,  2-CB, Psilocybin, or even one of those more obscure creations of Alexander Shulgin. Sometimes it’s just the wife and I. Sometimes with another couple or other close friends. And quite honestly, it tends to be do more for me then a 2 week vacation and a year of therapy.

But the sad fact is- I could get arrested. Have a permanent record. Loose my right to vote. Loose my right to travel to numerous countries which I still want to visit. Possibly loose my job. Have people look at me differently.

So please, tell me, why my choice of intoxicants, intoxicants which don’t cause me any problems in my life, and to the contrary, improve my life, should make me a criminal?

The sad fact is- everyone reading this, knows someone like me. They may be your doctor. Your co-worker or your boss. They may be your sibling. Or your neighbor. A person you like, respect, or love. A perfectly normal, respectable, and well-adjusted person. And yet we are criminals.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am a criminal

  1. Dr Ken Romeo says:

    It is still a mystery as to why marijuana is not legalized,sold at goverment stores and taxed!
    It is well known among physicians that cannabis WORKS on some types of pain where narcotics do not!

  2. Indeed. My first experience with “medical marijuana” was in the late 80’s- long before laws were passed. A friends brother had cancer- and chemo was litterally killing him- he couldn’t eat for days after. So one day the DR told his older brother “you know- marijuana can stimulate the appetite and ease the nausea- and we’ll turn a blind eye…”
    I still remember the father bringing him home- tears in his eyes… “when I picked him up, he said “can we get some icecream” followed by “can you kids get us some pot”

    Just recently there was a study out of UC SF showing cannabis to help manage chronic/severe pain while reducing their opoid pharmaceutical use: http://www.ucsf.edu/news/2011/12/11077/ucsf-study-finds-medical-marijuana-could-help-patients-reduce-pain-opiates

    I will be the first to say that while marijuana can be extremely effective for numerous conditions- it can be improved upon. But first we must break the NIH’s stranglehold on the supply of marijuana for research- marijuana that typically contains leaces, stems, and seeds. This is not a dangerous drug- and one safer then probably any scheduled drug, and probably safer then many OTC drugs (just research recent findings, and controls, over ibuprofen and liver/kidney damage).

    It is high time doctors and scientists are allowed unfettered research with this drug. See the lawsuit filed by Lionel Craker and MAPS to end the NIH strangelhold on the cannabis supply: http://www.maps.org/media/view/crakers_legal_team_submits_opening_brief_in_lawsuit_against_dea/

    I will also say it’s time to seperate the recreational and the medical usage. Neither should be illegal- and their being so intertwined is a disservice to both.

  3. Dr Ken Romeo says:

    No disagreement here. If left to “prescribed” only status as a CII, you will do nothing more than line the pockets of insurance companies, pharmacies and the medical industry( code word for doctors).
    Legalization and then control through goverment stores and taxation is the key. I am for controlled purchase through a government store to help maintain purity. Only God knows what you are buying when you purchase it “on the streets.” Any thoughts here on government control?
    By the way, we need to up the penalties for DWI and then enforce them. Certainly a slap on the wrist and sentence to an AA or NA meeting isn’t what is called for.

Leave a Reply

