Obamas Czars – another republican lie


So for some time now I have seen the same lie repeated over and over again by the rights pundits and bloggers- that Obama has created the most Czar positions (or heads of agencies or advisors, who are generally appointed by the president and in some cases not confirmed by the Senate) within the government of any president.

So let’s look at the truth.

In modern times:

Jimmy Carter has 2. Reagan 1. George H.W. Bush had 2. Bill clinton had 8 , George W Bush had 33.  Obama has 38,.

So the turth is George W Bush oversaw the largest rise of the Czar position in US history- by a stunning margin. And yet the right continues to rant that this was somehow Obamas doing.

Just another example of the liew willfully put out by the republican and tea party leaderships, and the willingness of their followers to blindly parrot these talking points without doing even a few secons of fact checking.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Obamas Czars – another republican lie

  1. I tihnk you’ll find many conservatives don’t get along with “the right” that you speak of. They have the microphone so of course they’re the only ones heard on the issue, take Sean Hannity as an example. He herds sheeple conservatives and not thinking ones. In any case you raise a good point, although I don’t know that I would characterize it as a lie. Thirty-eight is still higher than 33, however, one of the things people like me took umbrage at Bush for was him tripling the size of our government. We don’t hear these things from conservatives, because sean hannity and fox news and rush limbaugh are dominating the space. They tout their own views as conservative canon and the sheeple who can’t think for themselves follow. This is how divides between the GOP and what became the Tea Party happen: when the political class are more conerned with reelection than the principles they are supposed to represent.

  2. drrik says:

    Cool except that Wikipedia says that Bush had 28 that were NOT confirmed by the Senate and that Obama, had 33 UNCONFIRMED ones. Same data, but the opposite of the results that you were making conclusions about.. Sort of changes the conclusions.
    Unless I missed something.

    • Indeed- It was an issue with my copy and past job and the “not” dissapeared on me. Thanks for catching it. I deleted the references for now and will go back and fix it when I have a little time.

  3. The Mad Jewess says:

    FDR had Czars as well-it is UN CONSTITUTIONAL.
    The Repubs are not ‘lying’, I would have to say its about time that SOMEONE made people aware that this is not Soviet Russia.
    Goal in the Commie Manifest was for Commies to capture BOTH parties. IMO, they have.
    ENJOY.

  4. The Mad Jewess says:

    We did not form a govt based on 1700 philosophy, we formed a govt based on Republic, which is by the people, not by Czars.
    We do not need Czars, we need THE PEOPLE demanding that our Constitution be in effect, and restore the power back to its rightful owner.
    Where in the Constitution does it say “CZAR?”
    Just more elitists making up BS that we dont need.
    I dont need a Mommy or a Daddy for govt.

    • So just what do you think the position and power of the “czars” is? They by and large have no real power- are advisors to the president and cabinet on complex issues (which may explain why “Dubbya” increased their number to such an extent…)

  5. The Mad Jewess says:

    Obama has 32 Czars that were not voted in BY THE PEOPLE.
    the Pres is supposed to listen to US, not the vc cersa.
    He is a FAIL. GWB was a FAIL. Clinton was a FAIL. GHWB was a FAIL.
    ALL hate our form of govt.

Leave a Reply

