Why has Ron Paul spent 25 years in congress?


Someone raised this question today. Why has Ron Paul served in the congress for 25years? And is running for president, again…

 

And when I thought about it- I realized I had no bloody idea. In 25 years in congress he accomplished nothing- the only bill he proposed that got passed was some minor bill relating to the sale of a piece of federal property in his district.

And the man does not believe in the federal government- so why has he been there so long? And what does he hope to accomplish as president? The president has no authority to make law. Yes, he would have power to isolate the US in international affairs. He may even be able to order many government agencies to go hoe/stop doing their jobs.

Really- the more I look at his agenda, and what powers the president actually has- it increasingly seems he would create a constitutional crisis, and possibly impeachment or even charges of treason.

I really do wonder now just what it is this man thinks he has been accomplishing over the past few decades, and just what (and how) he thinks he would accomplish anything more as president?

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why has Ron Paul spent 25 years in congress?

  1. drrik says:

    He believes in a federal, not a national government, which was what the Constitution was supposed to guarantee and that guarantee was the only reason that the states signed on to the Union. Unfortunately, too many Hamiltonians in office now. Also unfortunately, philosophical purity runs counter to the way the national government chooses to operate most of the time. And except for the poor way that he expresses his desire for a more isolationist operating mode, the bulk of the country is right with him on the majority of his platform, ie have the majority of the power and control in the hands of the states and the people who get to vote or move if they dislike the results. Maximum freedom.

Leave a Reply

