Euthanasia


So I stumbled upon Rick Santorums strange comments on Euthanasia in the Netherlands. And by strange I mean either ignorance or lies- as they have no relation to the truth. But that’s not my point…

Why, are we so opposed to euthanasia laws in the country. When I was growing up I worked for a veternarian and years later dated one for several years, and have euthanized 7 pets in my life. I am intimately familiar with euthanasia. I, and a very large majority of americans will not allow their animals to suffer unneededly, and will mercifully, peacefully, and with love end their animals sufferings. So why don’t we have that right for ourselves?

I have in my adult life watched people I love suffer the ravages of alzheimers. Several cancers. A stroke leaving her in a vegetative state for several years, and the ravages of parkinsons. I have had both my mother and father ask me to promise to help them end their lives if they are facing the brutal ends they have witnessed so many of their friends go through.

But of course, in our country, apparently only “god” has the right to take your life. Or the state courts in 34 states as well as the federal government and military. And of course the tobacco companies can sell you a highly addictive substance that will quite likely kill you in most unpleseant ways, the liquor companies can sell a drug that kills 75,000 a year, but cannabis- which doesn’t kill, and indeed reduces the suffering of many terminal patients is still illegal in the majority of states and under federal law. Corporations can legally produce “acceptable” limits of toxins that insure that thousands of americans will die excruciating deaths every year. And of course we can have lovely laws that allow vigillantes to kill an innocent man without charges.

So please, tell me again, why should we not have the right to have a doctor end our lives when we have nothing but a few months of agony remaining? Why do we not have the right to spare our spouses, our children, our friends and family from watching, and paying for, those final months of misery.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in politics, social and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Euthanasia

  1. talesfromthelou says:

    Well said. But there is no problem killing people in the name of God or country, right ?

  2. “Euthanasia” is a very delicate and sensitive subject to evaluate. Both sides are politically correct which makes for quite a quagmire. On one hand it is the states duty to preserve life if humanly possible. On the other hand any individual should have the absolute right to end their own life if they feel it is in their best interest for whatever reason. This is something that the Government can have no control over because in all reality, even though it is technically illegal to attempt suicide, if the person is really intent on doing do you cant stop them. As far as assisted suicide goes if you make it a “LEGAL” activity then you will be subject to the laws governing that activity which in turn gives the government the right to make all laws concerning that activity. This could lead us down a very slippery slope to a place where we could conceivably see “euthanasia” as a normal act of the Government upon it’s own people for reasons such as incurable illnesses, etc., So before you ask for a moral/ethical law to be enacted be sure that you can live with the “Legislation” that the legalization will bring.

    The Terri Schaivo case is a good case for point of fact.

    Although I do believe in an individuals right to die, I cannot support what was done in her case.
    Seemingly enough she was in a vegetative state of some kind. However, her quality of life was not so that she was acutely suffering or any acute distress – at least until they took away the lifeline which fed her and let her starve to death – a “natural” death – I cannot in my mind accept that as being right. There were no documents that were legally signed by her that this was to be done in her absence of mind. And she had a family which fought to take on the responsibility of her care. When you consider the fact that there was no immediate reason for her to be “put out of her misery”, and the way the courts handed down the decisions, and the outcome of the case, it is not hard to foresee a very serious problem with any legislation of euthanasia or assisted suicide.
    Here are a couple of interesting links.

    http://www.ushmm.org/wlc/en/article.php?ModuleId=10005200

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Action_T4

  3. Pingback: Sad Story- official Kills Alzheimers stricken wife, then himself | drugsandotherthings

Leave a Reply

