the Obama “mic comment” nonsense


And amazing amount of ranting has been going on about the comments Obama made to the Russian President that were caught by a microphone that was turned on.

“This is my last election,” Obama is heard telling outgoing Russian President Dmitry Medvedev. “After my election, I have more flexibility.”

Medvedev replied in English, according to ABC News: “I understand. I will transmit this information to Vladimir,” an apparent reference to incoming President Vladmir Putin.

And of course some comments have been rational, with many more claiming everything from “proof” that Obama was “going to sell us out to the Russians”  to conspiracy theories that it was “proof” the election is  rigged.

But a much simpler explanation is probably much closer to the truth. That Obama knows all too well the current makeup of congress, and that he can’t move forward on much of anything- even on issues directly helping americans and our current situation. And a man smart enough to know that if he is reelected, many of the obstructionists in congress will be gone, and many more democrats in their places.

And I have to say- I understand the russians concern about the US backed plans for a missle defense system in Europe. While I know the cold war is long over, the cuban missle crisis but a distant memory, ask yourselves how america, especially this current version of america, would be feeling if Russia was installing a missle shield just off our borders? Would we be concerned? Would we demand not only insurances, but likely treaties and rights of inspection? It would be hard to answer anything but yes to these questions.

It is rather depressing to watch out the far right screams so loud, and twists every event to their use. We are no longer a United States of America, and the hate,fear, distrust, and irrationality is growing so deep we may never be again.

****************************************************************

And wow- had to edit this…

Just saw that yesterday Romney referred to Russia as “our number 1 geopolitical foe” in an interview with CNN. Really? is the 1980’s and Reagan being caught by a camera turned on declaring that russia had been declared an outlaw nation and bombing would begin in 5 minutes- an event that brought us dangerously close to a nuclear exchange.

Anyway- the LA Times has a brief piece up of Romenys remarks and Mendevs response, and some other details HERE

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in obama, politics, social and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the Obama “mic comment” nonsense

  1. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    “We are no longer a United States of America, and the hate,fear, distrust, and irrationality is growing so deep we may never be again.”

  2. gigoid says:

    Great post, very even tempered, and with intelligently laid out arguments, and solidly reasoned conclusions. Serendipity strikes again, especially after reading your little bio above…. we have a lot of common history, in some ways, so I’m glad that Jueseppi pointed out another blog new to me that appeals to my polymathic tendencies, and my roguish, devil-may-care insouciance…. 🙂 Just kidding, I’m really quite boring…. but we’ll talk more later… I’ll know when you post, as I’ve added you to my list of stalkees, er, fellow bloggers…. take care….

Leave a Reply

