Why are you here (blogging) ?


A lot of posters here have been having me asking this question lately.

Because there are a lot who refuse to approve replies that are not in agreement with them. And even more that refuse to enter into any debate of the facts or issues- simply resorting to name calling. something like this recent response: “Nothing on this blog says we are open for debate. We are right. You are wrong. Only leftists and other such weak-minded sycophants need Prozac.Don’t waste my time. You have nothing to bring to this table other than stupidity and ignorance. Buh-bye.”

I grew up with three tv stations, and sometimes a 4th independent station from a nearby city. No such thing as the internet. And a very limited number of magazines available.

But now we live in a world where people never have to leave their comfort zone. They can select their tv nes, their agazines, and their internet sites that telll them just what they want to hear.

And we are the weaker for it.

For the first time in my over 40 years of life we have a house in congress that says “my way of the highway” – that blatantly refuses to discuss or compromise.

And we are the weaker for it.

So please- why are you hear if it is not to be challenged? To debate? To learn? Are you so superior, so right in all you do? Are you the enlightened one? Seriously- some of the best interractions I have had here are with people I disagree with- though maybe it turns out not as much as either of us thought. We all learn from our mistakes. And we can all learn there are other realities then our own. That the experiences that shaped us our not necessarilly more, or less valid then those that shaped others.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in obama, politics, social, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why are you here (blogging) ?

  1. gigoid says:

    Well said… whoever it was that posted the above has their head firmly up their ass, for sure. They don’t want a blog, they just want a site where they can reinforce their own ignorance, and complain that nobody will listen to them…. pathetic, and not worth any more thought than that…. instant karma will take care of them, and if not, well, not all karma hits instantly….if you know what I mean….. it will come back to them in time, rest assured…. take care, brother, & don’t let the idiots get to you….

  2. Cowardice. Plain and simple. The people who usually resort to the name-calling are the ones without the knowledge and substance to support what they say.

  3. Jueseppi B. says:

    Yes, that is exactly why I am here blogging, to defeat the lies and misinformation from people who would spread those lies and misinformation all around. I fight that with the facts & truth. I find on my blog that facts and truth are something the Reich wing and the TeaTardedRepubliCANTS don’t really care about. You only have to listen to the rants & raving of each political candidate of the GOPretenders to see of what I speak. All four of them lie daily.

    So no, I don’t approve stupidity when it comes to my blog in the form of idiotic comments and replies to my post. I have yet to see one person who opposes my position on politics and racial oppression come to me with factual debate or intelligent discussion.

    • americanliberealtimes says:

      You have some compelling points and I am in almost total agreement with you. I would like to point out, however, that sometimes emotions get in the way of facts and/or common sense when someone feels strongly about something of a political nature. The sad part is that sometimes the emotional ones are the less educated and more easily led ones. They have been spoon fed their myth information by their chosen propaganda Propaganda Machine (Usually Korn-Servative) and this has been reinforced by their peers til the only thing they can do is regurgitate the vitriol. They don’t even really understand why they do this sometimes. It is automo-moronic nut there is a whole generation of these out there. They can be recognized by their set eyes, their stares into the distance, their faintly-uttered acknowledgements of your presence and the ever-playing recording of their talking points that spews forth from their mouths….effortlessly…automatically.

      • Jueseppi B. says:

        Emotion never gets in the way of facts & truth. A person’s emotion, and very little else can nor will ever change alter or erase a fact or a truth.

  4. eideard says:

    I admit to name calling – very rarely at blogs but at the comments clutter at a few of the news sites I’m addicted to.

    I’m capable of reasoned argument and return to it on questions of philosophy, science, history. But, being a cranky old geek – I’m sorry; but, I don’t feel the need to return to questions of ideology I’ve been wading through for over a half-century.

    My own blog – differs from those other, larger blogs I edit – is a diary of my reactions and comments, reflection of the small number of news sources I truly appreciate. I post several times a day – generally, political, technology, science and the odd behavior of our species.

    I welcome folks who wander by and reflect on their own on topics I feel are worth examining. What they have to say generally is satisfying, often supporting their own search for information, aiding their own thoughts about this imperfect world.

    I’m here because the thought and reflections of this blogger are honest, moving forward and learning more about our lives and context – and I respect that. Yes, I’m generally wordy. 🙂

  5. americanliberaltimes says:

    I am in total agreement with the technical correctness of the statement by Jueseppi,B which goes like this: “Emotion never gets in the way of facts & truth. A person’s emotion, and very little else can nor will ever change alter or erase a fact or a truth.”

    In my opinion that statement cannot be faulted in any manner for it’s technical perfection and accuracy— in normal circumstances.

    What I am saying here is that sometimes (Especially in the heat of a political debate) some people have been known to try to replace facts and truth with Emotion in an attempt to create their own facts and truth in order to win the point they are contending.

    I have noticed that a lot of this is attempted on certain politically-oriented radio talk shows.

    http://americanliberaltimes.com

Leave a Reply

