Whose Truth, Which Truth…


“whose Truth, whichh truth”. It was a line at the end of some cheap spy/thriller novel I picked up at an airport bookstore probably a couple decades ago. And it has stuck with me. I’ve always been the million shades of grey type rather then the black and white. 

And I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately- because political discourse has devolved from compromise, from realizing that neither our truth, nor their truth is neessarily THE TRUTH. Even the facts are often much more complicated.

On almost any issue- there are a myriad of factors that come into play, and their lingages and impacts are far from certainties. And no matter how hard we try, there are often factors that come into play that we miss- either on their own, or that have had an impact on the factors we do consider.

The classic “who, what, why, where, and when. The why is almost always the one most open to different interpretations, but even the others often have many layers that can be peeled away.

While it seems to me that the right, particularly the far right has become most absolute that their truth is the truth, I think we all need to step back and accept there are differences that must be acknowledged. We all have our own realities, and our own version of the truth. IS the reality that a wall street executive lives every day any more or less real then the reality of the soldier in afghanistan, the school teacher in detroit, the homeless person, the small business owner. Is the collective reality of the small town in georgia any more or less real then the collective reality of manhatten, of napa california, of olympia wa, of bar harbor maine?

We all have our truths shaped by our experiences- and in a country as varied as ours so are these truths.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in politics, social and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whose Truth, Which Truth…

  1. gigoid says:

    Well said…. we can all use a little discrimination in our judgments these days… must be some pretty good stuff…. 😉

  2. americanliberaltimes says:

    Truth is qualitative rather than quantitative and there is never an absolute, is there?
    http://americanliberaltimes.com

Leave a Reply

