Marijuana – what is wrong with america


It hit me today- marijuana is a good analogy for what is wrong with America today.

Just two decades ago indoor marijuana was the black sheep of the family. What people wanted, just as with wine, was good outdoor from the premier growing regions, grown by people who knew what they were doing. But fast forward, and indoor- just by the fact it is indoor, commands a premium. In recent years I have seen the big buyers bypass marijuana that they admitted was superio, in favor of indoor, or brand name / ‘flavor of the month” marijuana.

I’ll admit- indoor looks better. And lab tests show it is often 1-2% higher in THC then similar outdoor. But really all things considerred is negligible. And it’s kind of like adding salt or sugar on the surface of baked goods- it may be prettier, maybe a little tastier, but it really has no effect on the total level. And I don’t know anyone over 35 or 40 who will smoke indoor. While it has the punch, it lacks the terroir, the nuances of the land, weather, and environment that makes pot interesting.

And this is the problem with america today. We want something flashy. That looks good. That is the flavor of the month. Substance be damned. And were more then happy to pay a premium for this bling. And of course- demand our jobs pay us enough to afford the latest and greatest…

I don’t know. I grew up where form, style, had little meaning. Things had to function, and they had to last. If they were pretty then that was a plus- but far from a selling point. Whether it was a product you were buying or an employee you were hiring, or… it was factors such as quality, the ability to do what needed done, solidity, substance…that mattered.

Now, when I go to the store, turn on a TV, look for news, see politicians, or go to a medical marijuana dispensary,…more often then not it’s about who is the prettiest, the slickest, most entertaining, the flavor of the week…

I’m only in my early 40’s, but already feel like an old crumdgeron. Is america that shallow? Are the masses really asses?

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in drug use, obama, politics, social and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

