So…are ou ready for election reform yet?


I have for many years been a proponet of election reform. And oddly (or maybe not), with all the ranting and raving from both sides lately the issue still doesn’t get discussed.

So. Step 1. Public financing of elections. And ONLY public financing. Waaaahhhh you say- that’s my tax money. Yep. But do you really think allowing the wealthy and corporations to fund elections serves you better? Do you really thing people are giving 10 million plus in a shot without getting a great return on their money (a return that comes out of our pockets)?!

And second- instant runoff elections. Essentially- you rank your choices, and when the person you really want doesn’t come win, you vote goes to the next. Such a system would have drastically changed the 2000 election with Nader votes likely having gone to gore, and would have drastically changed the republican primaries with Paul and Santorum having picked up many votes.

There are numerous other reforms, large and small to be considerred.

I can’t remember who said it, or the exact quote, but “people who seek a position of power are wholly unsuited to hold it”. And it is true. Elections have become a game- a game of money, of popularity, of good looks…. and we all pay the price.

Give me someone like me and most of my friends- and really most of us. Deeply flawed human, but someone with intelligence and compassion, and a willingness to not only make the hard decisions, but admit we don’t have all the answers.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in obama, politics, social and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

