Sea Shepherd’s Paul Watson Arrested


The leader of the Sea Shepherds, Captan Paul Watson has been arrested in Germany and is facing extradition to Costa Rica.

Apparently no one knows what the Costa Rican arrest warrant, issued in October of 2011 coinciding with the Japanese Whaling Fleets lawsuit against the Sea Shepherds in the US is for. Interpol has refused to issue an arrest warrant saying the costa rican request is not in line with the law.

I spent time in Costa Rica last year, and while wearing some of my Sea Shepherds gear found a LOT of local support for the group. Costa Rica was embroiled in a controversy over a ban on fishing for shark heads which was being circumvented by the asian fleets by by coming into port with the full skeleton of the sharks- in plain defiance of the intent, if not the letter of the law.

Read more here & here

Sample letter to the German Minister of Justice, as well as contact information here

Donate to the Sea Shepherds here

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in environment, obama, paul watson, politics, sea shepherd, sea shepherds, social, whale wars, whaling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

