Has the Supreme Court Read the Constitution?


Aparently not judging from their ruling in the Arizona case. The Fourth Amendment clearly states: The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

And yet the supreme court, in yet another divided opinion, ruled that it was just fine and dandy for police to demand a persons paper if they have (no- not “probable cause”) but reasonable suspicion.

I spent a lot of my youth traveling this country, and being an “alternative” type, had more then my share of unwarranted run ins with the police. Including on more then one occasion being pulled over and having to ask repeatedly, for up to an hour, why I had been pulled over before their brains could come up with an excuse. (I kid you not- it once took two rural georgia police offers well over an hour to come up with “because your license plate is too dirty” – this despite the fact the car had gone through the car wash a few hours earlier- and the plate, and the car, was shiny clean. And so yes, I got to fully understand the reality of “driving while black” and “driving while latino” that is a reality for so many americans.

Once again we see the most conservative Supreme Court in our modern history rule not on the points of law. Not on the letter nor the intent of the constiution, but based on their own personal conservative world views. Shame!

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in obama, politics, romney, social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Has the Supreme Court Read the Constitution?

  1. Barneysday says:

    This. Courts been doing this since 2000. No hope for a change in the foreseeable future.

Leave a Reply

