Texas GOP – Beliefs More Important Then Critical Thinking (Or: We Like Our Supporters Stupid)


Well, the Texas GOP has gotten together and dreamed up their 2012 platform (pdf here ).

Much of it deals with the educational system in Texas. And they openly state that they oppose the teaching of critical thinking because *gasp* it might challenge a students fixed beliefs.

Am I missing something here? I thought that was the point of education. To present facts and evidence, and allow, no, to encourage critical thinking so that we can learn from our mistakes, and have a better understanding of our world and our society.

I guess they aren’t happy that as it is 46% of americans believe in creationism .

Ah yes, the good old GOP. They know damn well an ignorant society is much easier to control, and to fleece.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in global warming, obama, politics, religion, romney, social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Texas GOP – Beliefs More Important Then Critical Thinking (Or: We Like Our Supporters Stupid)

  1. ws141 says:

    Without critical thinking, we are nothing more than hairless apes.

  2. William Gates says:

    When you control a man’s thinking you don’t have to worry about his actions–Carter Woodson

    I guess they start working on that early in Texas

  3. Barneysday says:

    To ws141 I would add,…” or Republicans.”

  4. Pingback: Finally! Evidence of God (particle) | drugsandotherthings

  5. Pingback: Time to End the Welfare State – Starting with Texas | drugsandotherthings

Leave a Reply

