Oh the irony- Conservatives whining Obamacare is a tax


It would be funny were it not so pathetic- the moral outrage from the right that Obamacare is a “tax”. And that it “forces” americans to buy a product from a private company.

As I blogged months ago, the individual mandate was a republican idea. Obama wanted a single payer system- much like those evil communist/marxist/facist  countries the United Kingdom and Australia have.

But of course the individual mandate has long been a preresiquite for any GOP support of healthcare reform. Indeed, their presidential candidate had been the only one to propose and sign such a thing into law- with glowing support from ranking republicans and heavyweight conservative groups such as the Heritage Foundation.

I have seriously started to wonder if maybe obama should propose banning abortion, locking up all gays, mandating the death penalty for drug users, eliminating the IRS and all taxes… either the GOP would violently oppose these measures and ram contrary laws through congress, or their heads would explode – either outcome which I could deal with.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in obama, politics, romney, taxes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh the irony- Conservatives whining Obamacare is a tax

  1. List of X says:

    I thought about it, but I think GOP will simply move to the right of whatever Obama would suggest – if he were to lock up gays, GOP would want to execute them, and so on.

    • Well, you’re right of course. But it’s like a bad slapstick movie watching the republicans stumble all over themselves denouncing what has been, for over 20 years, their idea. With Romney as the head stooge- denouncing and promising to repeal a law based on one of his own.

      If the realities weren’t so serious, I’d laugh…

Leave a Reply

