More Republican Hypocrisy – the Farm Bill


No, not the normal hypocrisy of giving billions in subsidies to  what they love to call “family farmers”, a beast that barely exists in the US anymore. With farms and the farmers, ultimately being owned by by corporations and banks. Nor the supsidies to the corn producers to produce ethanol- driving up the cost of gas and using more fuel, and creating more pollution then it negates.

No, this is about the amendment added by Republicans, led by Republican Steve King of Iowa in a midnight vote, that is directly aimed at California. A state where a voter passed iniative mandates that factory farmed chickens, hens raised for egg production, are in cages large enough that they can spread their wings and move around. These are the same chickens who at the end of their usefulness for pumping out eggs are exempted from the laws requiring a humane death by giving an electroshock, because their bodies are so weak and nutrionally depleted that their bones would literally explode. (which of course renders the meat worthless for sale).

Yes, those good old republicans. All about states rights and the will of the people. Until this leads to laws like Californias poultry law. Or gay rights. Or medical marijuana. Or abortion.

 

This reminds me of the “Ag-Gag” laws passed by republicans in numerous states making it illegal to photograph or videotape factory farms.

Yes, the good old GOP. Proud supporter of state rights and the will of the people…so long as they toe the party line.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in environment, gay rights, obama, politics, romney, social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

