Medical Marijuana – Ask your Congressperson to Support HR 6134


16 Democratic House Members led by Sam Farr, along with 3 Republicans including Ron Paul, have introduced HR 6134 , the “Truth In Trials Act

This simple bill would finally allow those facing federal charges for medical marijuana to present evidence in court that they were operating in compliana with their states laws.

As much as it may sound like a trip down the rabbit hole in Alice in Wonderland, those currently facing federal charges are forbidden from even mentioning in court that there actions were legal under the laws of the state where they reside.

I would especially urge those with Republican representatives to contact them- and remind them that it is the GOP who routinely screams loudest about “states rights”…at least when they are trying to  push one of their agendas.

And remind them that the Obama administration, including attorney general Eric Holder have said the federal government would not persue prosecutions related to medical marijuana in cases where people where in compliance with state laws. But that various federal attorneys around the country are continuing to persue their own personal beliefs with prosecutions, as are some higher ups in the IRS.

And remember- this bill will be even more important if Mitt Romney is elected president, as he has no sympathy whatsover for medical marijuana.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in drug policy, drug use, medical cannabis, medical marijuana, obama, politics, romney, ron paul, social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

