WA Judge Decrees Cops Can Impersonate Owner of Seized Cellphone


A case from 2009 where police in Washington seized the cellphone of a suspected drug dealer, then replied to text messages impersonating the suspect and setting up drug deals.

And the judge in the case has ruled this is just fine and dandy.

Fair game you may say. The people were guilty. And stupid…

But here’s the rub. I have been in this situation. Two decades ago a person at a house I was renting was busted. I was no longer living there. Basically subletting while I lived with a woman, but maintaining the house to store much of my belongings, and in case the relationship went south.

While the police were there, a friend of the person called, someone I had never met nor spoken to. And the police impersonated me, set up a drug deal, and busted the person.

And then wanted to charge me with a felony crime I knew nothing about with a person I had never met. Used it as an excuse to seize every item of value I owned. And left me with numerous potential charges hanging over my head for a decade.

Anyway…story on the case here and the case documents here

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in drug policy, drug use, politics, social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WA Judge Decrees Cops Can Impersonate Owner of Seized Cellphone

  1. Barneysday says:

    Sad to say, citizen rights are becoming an oxymoron in these days of ultra- right courts. Our days of freedom are numbered. Good post

Leave a Reply

