The Fox Mulder Syndrome


This is what I call the trend that has increasingly been sweeping our nation since Obama was elected. Overwhelmingly from the far right- though all denominations are aflicted…but it’s the far right where this has exploded.

So what is the Fox Mulder syndrome? Well…you remember the X-files? And the tagline “I want to believe” ?

Everyday, and actually dozens if not hundreds of times a day I am confronted with “news” stories and blog posts, predominantly from the far right of the spectrum, where the facts are either completely missing, or are wrong. Often as not it takes less then a minute to find the facts to debunk.

And I’m often not talking about complicated issues- which often have layers of “truth” that can be viewed multiple ways. I am talking about simple facts- that really can not be disputed. And yet these lies get published and become facts in the minds of thousands, if not millions. (example- today a post from [yet another] email that has been circulating for months claiming Obama at a speech at MasterLock ~6 months ago confused the wisconsin flag with a union flag in the shop. Nope- it was a reporter from Politico who made that mistake, and despite the claims of a “media coverup” it took seconds to find the truth reported in mutliple sources, including many non partisan- and non poltical news sources.

Or the “obama gave away 7 Alaskan islands to Russia nonsense. Or the ….well…this could turn into something making War and Peace look like a novella.

It is sad that so many people want to believe- that they can no longer be bothered by truth. Is it any wonder our country is where it is…

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in obama, politics, religion, romney, ron paul, social, tea party. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Fox Mulder Syndrome

  1. Barney says:

    Remember, lies told often enough become perceived truths.

Leave a Reply

