Mitt Romney : Mr. Charitable …hardly


Well the right seems to be running with the propaganda that Mitt Romeny is Mr. Charitable himself. Yes indeed,- he gives to those less fortunate- far more then the evil Obamas.

But of course they are using as their basis for this the one year of tax returns Mr. Romeny has deemed fit for public consumption. You know, the one that reflects the inage he wanted to project once he decided he wanted to be king…erm…president.

So let’s take a look:

In 2011 the Romneys gave an impressive 29.4% of their income to charitable causes, compared to the Obama’s 21.8%. See what a great guy he is?

But wait a second. These numbers rely on the same logic as the darling of the right, the “flat tax”. The Romney’s have a net worth exceeding $200 million, and no debendent children. They took in $13.6 Million in income. Compared to the Obamas, who just barely reside in the millionaire club, who have two dependent children, and who had roughly $786,000 in income.

So tell me- who gave more. Here’s a little experiement for you. Ask your favorite bartender or waitress whose tip means more- The guy who comes in in his BMW, wearing a rolex, and tips 20%, or the guy who comes in in his old work truck or family van and tips 17.5%. It’s easy to give when you know you will never have to worry about money…

And then, let’s dig a little deeper, shall we?

According to Romney’s trustee, Brad Malt, despite the 2011, for public consumption tax returns, in reality the Romeny’s, over the past 20 years, gave a paltry 13.5% of their income to charitable causes.

And wait- Romney is a Mormon afterall. A church that requires you to give 10% to remain in good standing. So for two decades Romeny gave a whopping 3.5% out of the goodness of his heart (or was it chasing tax breaks??).

And where did this generous outpouring go. Well, largely to his own foundation- the Tyler Foundation. Hmmm. And where did the Tyler Foundation money go? Well, over 70% has gone to the Mormon Church or their University- Bringham Young.

So please, Mr Romney and your lackeys. Don’t insult my intelligence. I do without so I can give a larger percentage of my income then your 20 year average to causes I believe in, and to areas where (particularly Republican administrations) the government fails to support. And despite working 70+ hour weeks most of my adult life, I still have found time to give hundreds, probably thousands of hours of my time. So don’t pretend to be mr good guy, because you are kissing your churches *** and chasing tax dodges.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in obama, politics, religion, romney, social, taxes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

