Lance Armstrong Ran “The Most Sophisticated Doping Ring Ever”


According to the 1,000+ page report released by the US Anti Doping Agency. The (rupert murdoch owned) Wall Street Journal was live blogging from the 202 page preliminary report released earlier today here.

And the testimony. The allegations. The evidence. Are damning.

And I’ll be the firstto admit- this is a complicated issue. I know many strongly opposed to drugs (other then caffeine, tobacco, alcohol…) that thing athletes should be allowed to use performance enhancing drugs. And many drug users vehemently opposed to such.

I tend to come down on the latter side. For a very simple reason. If I choose to do lsd, psilocybin, or mdma for a little “mental spring cleaning”…as an effective alternative to psychotherapy, or if I smoke a joint to enhance enjoyment of music or a movie- I am not creating an atmosphere where others must do the same in order to keep up. There’s no money involved. No glory. No standings.

The same can not be said for sports. And I’ll let you in n a dirty little secret of teen drug use. Steroids, and other performance enhancing drugs are rampant. And usually not only with the knowledge, but the aid of adult coaches.

And the sad fact is, their widespread use puts huge pressure on anyone- particularly at the highest levels, to use.

Ultimately- my issue is not with those that choose to use performance enhancing drugs- but that they can then compete, without disclosure, with those that choose not to go down that path.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in drug policy, drug use and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

