Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged, and Paul Ryan and the far right


So, for the second time in my life, I am trying to read Ayn Rands “Atlas Shrugged”. And I say trying, because while I can read even the most voluminous classic in under a week, I have made it through 30 pages in 4 days.

It is painful. The mental masturbation. It’s exactly why I had so much trouble getting through it the first time, 25 +/- years ago.

But with Paul Ryan essentially claiming it as his blueprint. Giving it to all his staffers to read. And with it becoming a favorite of the tea-party (and long having been a favorite of the right wing of the libertarians) I felt it was important that I read it again.

But as I said… The metnal masturbation. The false superiority. It reeks of the mindset of the aryan nation. The eugenics movement of the mid 20th century.

I will say- it bridges politics. race. gender. relgion.  But at it’s very core is selfishness. The very idea that “self-interst” is the ideal to be chased. And I suppose the all to frequent capitalist ideal that there is not only nothing wrong with screwing other people- but it is commendable. That they deserve to be screwed.

A strange, and ignorant twist on Darwins survical of the fittest.

So. While I have a hard time recommending anyone actually try to read this self-important swill (if you do- please go get it from the public library so as not to supply Rands’ “foundation” with anymore cash- if the right hasn’t shut down that in your town yet, that is). I would suggest you at least research it some. Search terms such as Ayn Rand. Objectivism, John Galt…which will lead you to more.

And as (I think) Geena Davis said in the movie “The Fly” – “Be afraid. Be very afraid.” . Because this is the philosophy that the man who wants to be Vice President, and ultimately president adheres to. And this is the philosophy many of the behing Adam West. Sarah Palin. Ron Paul. Scott Brown, Mike Lee. And many others adhere, or cater to.

I suppose I will continue muddling through it, looking for some gem of insight I previously missed. But I am not hopeful. and it seems to only be reenforcing prior contrary beliefs. So maybe I’ll switch to the next classic on my list to reread. DeToquevilles “Democracy in America”. A true gem. (or maybe indulge myself in the newer “the fish that ate the whale”. A fascinating book from what I have heard and read of it. ( http://bit.ly/RzcQ5i )

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in obama, politics, romney, ron paul, tea party and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged, and Paul Ryan and the far right

  1. assortedanomalies says:

    I hated it the second time i read it. bunch of crap put together and is celebrated as a philosophical masterpiece. more of my views if you are interested

    http://assortedanomalies.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/of-ayn-rand-and-objectivism/

Leave a Reply

