Hmmm…who to vote for (seriously)


Many of you who follow my blog or, whose blogs I follow, may assume I am an instant Obama vote. As opposed to Romeny- then you’re right. BUT…

I live in a non battleground state. One where an Obama win is a foregone conclusion. So…the question for me boils down to Obama or Gary Johnson. I have met, and talked with Johnson. And while I disagree with him on numerous issues- I can honestly say the same for Obama. And I support Johnson on a wide swath of issues, and in some cases while I may disagree with either his ultimate position, or his reasoning- I respect his thoughtfulness.

Now I know Johnson has zero chance of winning. and I’m not really even sure how much of a “message” votes for him sends. But I don’t like our two party system. Especially given the north/south east/west dichotomies within the parties.

But my real concern with a 3rd party candidate in this election is this: we may well see an outcome where either candidate wins’looses the electoral college but wins/looses the popular vote. And while it has long been the law of the land- I have a hard time with a candidate winning the popular vote- but loosing the election. It seems, well, undemocratic.

So I am struggling. And I would urge all of you considdering a 3rd party vote- whether your second choice is Romney or Obama, to give the issue some thought.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in obama, politics, romney, ron paul and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hmmm…who to vote for (seriously)

  1. oxherder says:

    I would always vote for a third party candidate when I lived in the States. I didn’t live in a battleground state, so I was not worried about letting Bob Dole getting into power, for example! Although i would never really wanted Ross Perot to be the president, I did vote for him. I was really voting for a 3 (or more) party system. I would encourage everyone to, firstly, vote, and secondly, don’t vote for the ‘lesser of two evils’.. vote for someone who either you really believe in (I.e. Ralph Nader (is he running this year? lol)) or vote against the 2 party system. America is barely a democracy with only 2 chocies!

Leave a Reply

