Obama’s Solar Debacle


Much has been made of the failures of a limited number of alternative energy companies that received federal stimulus funds. Ignoring the fact that, at the time, every singly one of them looked to be great investments. Perhaps ahead of their time in the case of the battery technology companies, and perhaps too optimistic in terms of the realities of competition with China, and the Silica shortage that ended unexpectedly with the solar. (and never mind that the US is recoving most, if not all of the stimulus money frm the small percentage of companies that failed via bankruptcy)

BUT, with the latest jobs report we have a good picture of the state of the solar industry. One of the more vibrant sectors of the economy.

The solar industry added 13,872 jobs last year. 1 out of every 230 jobs. Growth of the solar industry is pegged at 13.2%- 6 times the national average for other industries of 2.3%

But of course, solar isn’t possible. it isn’t economical. it isn’t worth supporting.

One must wonder how many more jobs would have been created for americans if the ignorant portion of the right didn’t consistently bad mouth it. And oh yea- for those of you on the right- one more point to consider. Solar is the ONLY segment of the construction industry I see that is dominated not by the evil mexican, but by your favorite (white) americans.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in climate change, environment, global warming, obama, politics, romney, social, tea party and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

