World AIDS Day, Drugs, and Politics


Aids-And-Drug-War-infographic

I’d be remiss if I didn’t do at least a short post on the topic today.

Roughly 1 in 3 new cases of HIV are the result of syringe sharing. Some 17, overwhelmingly red states still have no legal syringe access programs.

Cities with legal syringe access programs have seen the rate of infection drop an average of 18%, while cities without have seen a rise of 8%.

And let’s make no mistakes here. Even if you feel an IV drug user deserves to die it may be months, or years before they know they are infected. And they can spread the infection to other non IV drug users through sexual activity (and no- it’s not just “gays” who contract HIV via sex).

So regardless of your feelings about drugs, drug users, and the drug war…it is long, long past time to insist on harm reduction. Programs to both educate and insure access to clean needles. The life you save may ultimately be someone who has never done illegal drugs. Maybe yoursel. Your son or daughter. Your grandchild…

 

 

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in drug policy, drug use, obama, politics, social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

