Men…violent men


BushmasterAd-Maxim_0

And in particular- White Men. That commit these mass killings. That are responsible for the vast majority of gun vionce in this country. Over the past 30 years all but one of the more the n60 mass shootings were carried out by men. And the vast majority have been at the hands of white men- at a rate far higher then their percentage of the population over the time period.

There is something in our culture that makes men particularly prone to violence. And ultimately I think it boils down to fear. Whether it’s fear of things they don’t understand (gays, government, other races, other religions), Fear of things thing they cant change, such as a country and a world rapidly changing, Fear of lack of control- whether over their career, their finances, their families. And sadly violence is one place they can feel powerful. And of course- guns. The ability to inflict lethal damage from a safe distance. Without the unpleseant realities of more arcane forms of lethal violence.(it is much easier to point and shoot then deal with the close and bloody realities of stabbing, clubbing, strangling etc)

So maybe it’s time to start profiling the white male. Or god forbid, actually start discussing the issues in our country that result in so many men feeling trapped. Feeling helpless and powerless. Feeling angry. And feeling like they need a gun to be a man.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in gun rights, obama, politics, social, tea party, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Men…violent men

  1. Barneysday says:

    Well said and to the point.

Leave a Reply

