The Conservative Divide on Guns


post

 

Rupert Murdoch’s urban conservative NY Post has been running numerous articles and covers supporting gun control and vilifying the gun proponent conservatives. Apparently at the direct orders of Murdoch.

While Murdoch’s FOX News, at the orders of Richard Ailes (yes, the same man who claimed Fox had only one conservative working there) has ordered  FOX, which serves more of the rural conservative base, to support the NRA view of things.

While the gun control issue is usually presented as breaking down as coservative VS liberal, the truth is far more complicated. The issue is far more likely to break down on urban vs rural as well as by education and income levels.

But of course- guns are one of many issues we can’t seem to discuss honestly. And as always part of the problem is we try to oversimplify and pigeonhole “them” as well as “us”.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in gun rights, obama, social, tea party and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Conservative Divide on Guns

  1. melfamy says:

    The right-wing wants us to consider the meanings of words written in the Constitution as they were when written. Which is fine, but one cannot do that without considering the temper and technology of the times, in which the meaning of ‘arms’ did Not encompass automatic weapons and armor-piercing bullets, in a time when owning a gun gave one the equivalent firepower of a common soldier.

Leave a Reply

