An observation on the after effects of NYE celebrations and choice of drugs


I’ll admit- I’m not much of a New Years part person- so like most years- I was comfortably in bed when I heard the drunken fools setting off fireworks, or worse, shooting off guns. But I have a long standing tradition of visiting friends and bringing presents on new years day. (an old family tradition, based, I am not sure how strictly, on my families Scottish heritage).

Anyway- this year as most I saw the same basic after-effects of the new years festivities.

Those that celebrated with alcohol: mostly hungover- some violently so. The houses in the most disaray. And the most evidence of cigarette smoking. Hands down the most “harmed” of the bunch.

Those that celebrated with marijuana: Little change from normal really. Maybe a little more tired from staying up later then usual, or in some cases a little more caffeinated then normal.

Those that celebrated with LSD: The best of the bunch. Positively glowing and in a grand mood. The happiest and most refreshed of the lot.

Those that celebrated with MDMA (Ecstasy) or MDA: A mixed bag- though probably for the widest range of reasons. Most fell somewhere in between the users of cannabis and lsd. Mostly suffering the effects of lack of sleep with maybe a little effect from mixing coffee or caffeinated tea in the morning with the residual effects of a stimulant. A few had overindulged and were a bit worse for wear- though still far better off then even the mild overindulgers of alcohol. To be fair though- for those that have a predisposition to negative after effects of MDMA those effects (depression mostly) don’t usually set in until the 3rd day after. Though again, to be fair- at my age pretty much everyone knows how it affects them and if it tends toward negative either no longer imbibe or do so in proper moderation.

Those that used DMT: A tough one. Somewhere in the wide zome between marijuana and LSD. I would say those for whom a psychedelic or other strong drug is rare were most close to the LSD group, while those who use such substances more frequently fell more into the marijuana user camp.

Other: Those that celebrated with psilocybin (mushrooms), 2C-B or 2C-E: These all fell somewhere between LSD and MDMA. The mushroom folks seemed better rested due to shorter duration, but none of the others seemed any worse for less sleep. The folks who had taken 2c-e were the worst off of the bunch but were also the heaviest cigarette smokers and had a couple+ drinks on the come down to help with sleep.

For all of these people except the alchol users their substance of choice for the festivities was a Schedule I drug under Federal Law potentially bearing serious legal consequences. And with the exception of some of the marijuana users (it’s a medical marijuana state), all the rest of the substances likewise carry strict state penalties. And yet it was the legal and widely socially accepted drug, alcohol, that clearly and wthout a doubt had the most negative impact. With the other legal drug- cigarettes, seemingly a contributing factor to negative after effects.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in drug policy, drug use, politics, social and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

