D.C. Central Kitchen – an inspiring charity


Heard an all too brief piece last night on NPR’s “The Splendid Table” which my partner was listening to while cooking. (totally off topic but topics included craft beer and the dark side of the “virgin” olive oil industry).

But the piece that really made me sit up was a brief piece with one of the people from D.C. Central Kitchen. A non-profit in the D.C. area that, among other things, trains homeless and disadvantaged people for the food services industry. And industry always looking for employees, and one of the few remaining where people that have made mistakes in their lives or otherwise had problems can actually not only find employment, but advance based on their abilities.

Another aspect of their work is they provide thousands of cooked from scratch meals for DC public schools and other non-profit shelters and kitchens. Part of this is their work in recovering food waste- everything from unused food from private schools and events in the DC area to partnering with area farms to make use of produce that, due to size, shape, or blemishes are unsuitable for market but perfectly good for consumption. In 2011 they recovered a whopping 816,000 pounds of food and provided 1.86 million meals.

I am familiar with some similar, albeit more limited programs in my areas but this group just blows me away. Really a sucessful business running as a non-profit.

Good people doing good things. their site is here: D.C. Central Kitchen

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

