64GB Ipad and MS Surface Pro have the same storage. Right?


Apparently not. According to a report in the LA Times. The 64GB model of Microsofts Surface Pro tablet has only 23GB of usable memory.

From some web searching the 64GB Apple Ipad has 57.2GB of usable memory- roughly 2.5X as much.

Again, from the LA Times the 128GB version of MS Surface Pro has only 83GB. Apples 128GB Ipad won’t be available for another week so it’s impossible to say what its actual capacity will be- though it should be in line with the other Ipads.

Now everyone knows, or should know, that the actual capacity is never the stated capacity out of the box- that the operating system and installed applications all take up space.

But the numbers on the MS Surface Pro are simply unacceptable. Well outside of “accepted norms”. I can hear the lawyers shuffling papers and ringing their hands already…

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment