Breitbart Gets It Wrong on Hagel : Friends of Hamas Doesn’t Exist


I know, I know- just shocking that Breitbart got something wrong.

SO… just under 2 weeks ago Breitbart’s editor at large Ben Shapiro broke the story that Chuck Hagel had taken money from “Friends of Hamas” for a speaking engagement. He cited an unnamed “senate source” and claims that White House assistant communications director Eric Schults refused to comment and hung up on him- implying he was trying to hide the truth.

But of course, the truth was something quite different. “Friends of Hamas” doesn’t exist. Those journalists with some intelligence and integrity actually bothered to question the existence of  a front group dumb enough to use the name of a terrorist organization. And of course there was no evidence that such a group existed.

Which of course didn’t stop right-wing(nut) “news” sources such as tthe washington times and the esaminer, and numerous bloggers from repeating the story. For a good laugh go do a search at google setting the dates from Feb. 7th to the 17th and you can see for yourself some of the rabid frothing at the mouth over this “news”

Well, now we know the source of the claims. It appears NY Daily News reporter, Dan Friedman was questioning a republican senate aide and:

Here’s what happened: When rumors swirled that Hagel received speaking fees from controversial organizations, I attempted to check them out.

On Feb. 6, I called a Republican aide on Capitol Hill with a question: Did Hagel’s Senate critics know of controversial groups that he had addressed?

Hagel was in hot water for alleged hostility to Israel. So, I asked my source, had Hagel given a speech to, say, the “Junior League of Hezbollah, in France”? And: What about “Friends of Hamas”?

The names were so over-the-top, so linked to terrorism in the Middle East, that it was clear I was talking hypothetically and hyperbolically. No one could take seriously the idea that organizations with those names existed — let alone that a former senator would speak to them.

Or so I thought.

The aide promised to get back to me. I followed up with an e-mail, as a reminder: “Did he get $25K speaking fee from Friends of Hamas?” I asked.

The source never responded, and I moved on.

 

But of course, Breitbart and Shapiro seem unwilling to publish a retraction. To admit they were wrong. (Understandable perhaps- if they had to do this every time they printed lies and innuendo…well…wouldn’t be much of a website)

Sadly, many of the rights, particularly the far rights “news sources” deal in innuendo, exaggerations, things taken out of context, and outright lies.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in israel, obama, politics, ron paul, social, tea party and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breitbart Gets It Wrong on Hagel : Friends of Hamas Doesn’t Exist

  1. jcmarckx2009 says:

    All the hypocrisy attached to the Hagel hearings is astounding. I don’t see why the Senate (and House) doesn’t have an Israeli flag to salute within their chambers!

  2. Barneysday says:

    Don’t forget that esteemed Texas Senator Ted Cruz ran with this story, even taking the accusation public during Hagel’s Senate Hearing. It was for this slime attack that McCain rebuked Cruz. Cruz has never retracted his accusation.

Leave a Reply

