“We’re Here, We’re Queer…Get used to It”


A slogan made famous by the activist group “Queer Naction” in the early 90’s. And one that’s finally coming true.

The Supreme court is hearing two major cases related to Gay Marriage this week. One on the ironically named federal “Defense of Marriage Act” , and one on Californias voter passed “proposition 8”.

And the outcome is anything but certain. Could easily go either way on the bradest of levels. And may be ruled on in a narrow or a wide sense.

But regardless of how these 9 members, 5 appointed by conservative republicans, and 6 of whom are over 60 years old (4 over 70 years old and the youngest 52) rule- the reality is clear- Gay Marriage WILL be a right for all in the US. Maybe not this year, maybe not this decade (why does Obamas “bitter clingers line pop to mind?)… but in the  not too distant future. (not to offend anyone- I know even another day can be too long- but I hope, in the grand scheme of things, you understand my intent).

Roughly 60% of americans support gay marriage- the highest rate ever (and it continues to climb). Several prominent republicans have reversed position on the matter- going so far as to sign onto briefs before the supreme court to allow gay marriage.

We’ve had our first president come out (finally) and say he supports gay marriage.

And like so many issues in our nations history- issues based on fear, and yes, often religion, we see each generation becoming more accepting- as they see the flaws of the previous generations fears- and the lack of the problems that were prophecsed.

And we have had over 200 corporations- including many, many of our major corporations, file friend of the court briefs to repeal DOMA. Insisting that it hurts business. It forces them to treat emploees differently. It causes a confusing set of laws for corporations operating in numerous states. It creates problems for employees who move from one corporate office to another.

So yes. The supreme court may yet disgrace themselves. It’s won’t be the first…or the last time. But the writing is on the wall. (and sorry Westboro- it ain’t “god hates fags”)

So- while I am not holding my breath on how this supreme court will rule- I have no doubt that the (legal, if not social) bias against marriage days are numbered.

Which I guess means I better start looking into wedding planning. Because although I am straight- I, or we I suppose, decided some 15 years ago not to get “married” until all our friends had that right.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in gay marriage, gay rights, obama, politics, religion, social, tea party and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

