Oklahoma Earthquake Linked To Oil Extraction


The 5.7 Earthquake in oklahoma has been linked to the injection of wastewater used in oil extraction in a new paper published in the peer reviewed journal Geology.

Interestingly- this has been linked to the injection of wastewater that started nearly two decades ago. It has long been accepted (yes, of course, there are deniers- especially those funded by the oil idustry) that the injection of water into the earth- for both traditional oil extraction and hydraulic fracturing aka fracking (as well as the “green” geothermal energy exploitation” can cause numerous, small earthquakes.

But this is one of the first papers exploring both larger earthquakes- and ones a considerable time after the original injections. Research that may (and should) cause some serious discussion and rethinking.

And for everone involved- from private landowners, to oil companies, to local/state/federal government there is some serious thinking to do here. As earthquakes, which can cause serious financial damage to many surrounding residents and businesses, are generally not covered by insurance as they are considerred, ahem, “An act of god”. Which will make the above mentioned entities ripe targets for lawsutis from those affected.

Article at the BBC here . And an interesting “editorial” in the Oklahoman here

 

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in environment, fracking, obama, politics, social, taxes, tea party and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

