What would Reagan Do (on gun control)


Nothing from the wingnut news daily, aka wnd, should surprise me. But this one just sums up the crazy of the right wing better then I everer could.

The article is based on an article the former actor wrote for “Guns and Ammo” magazine just after (? no exact date given, and giving the lag in publishing this may well have been written Before he became governor- my guess would be it was from during, or just before the campaign) becoming governor of CA in 1967.

Regardless- it ignores the next few decades of Reagans life and political career.

His instrumental role in California’s rabid gun control. The restrictions on both open and concealed carry- which in no small part were the result of the Black Panthers daring to exercise their rights during the volatile civil rights period.

And of course the ban on fully automatic weapons instituted under Reagans presidency.

And of course Reagan himself becoming a victim of gun violence- and supporting the Brady Bill.

And of course- Reagan lobbying heavily for the original assault weapons ban passed under Clinton. With numerous key republicans saying it was Reagans lobbying that swung their vote.

Reagan- and avid shooter and defender of (at least his far right interpretation of the 2nd amendmanet) views on guns- and gun control, evolved over his life. Based on his personal experiences. And what he saw happening in our country.

But I guess to the far right wingnuts evolution- of any form, is verbotten.

 

And I love how at the end of the WND article they try and discredit Obamas claims on public support for background checks by quoting a recent survey that asked a much broader question….

 

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in gun rights, obama, politics, ron paul, social, tea party and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

