A Majority of Americans Favor Legalizing Marijuana


While one of the news agencies published a poll with almost identical results within the past year this poll from Pew is probably the most comprehensive and best poll out yet  on the matter.

A full 52% of americans believe cannabis should be legal, while only 45% believe it should not be- leaving 3% undecided.

But more intersting to me in the Pew Poll (here) are some of the more nuanced questions on the issue.

And I guess this is the point where I offer an apolgy to many on the conservative side of the spectrum. Because I, and many in the marijuana movement- as well as I would say many in our local, state, and federal government- from politicians to judges to law enforcement have horribly misjudged their sentiment:

4-4-13-5

 

So, it would seem, despite “common wisdom” conservatives are less hypocritical then we have been led to believe in terms of both the general drug war against marijuana, and more particularly, the federal drug war against marijuana in states that have legalized it.

There is a wealth of information from many different angles in this well crafted poll- I highly recommend following the link above and having a good solid look at the whole thing.

In closing I will add a few points:

First- the government review under Nixon after he had “emergency scheduled” marijuana came back and said marijuana should be decriminalized.

Second- the goverment still holds a monopoly on the supply of marijuana for research- and prosecutes any legitimate research trying to work around this. They supply a low quality product (largely leaf, stems and seeds) unrepresentative of actual cannabis use. And they continue to refuse to supply marijuana for legitimate research for anything but studies trying to show harm.

Third- The federal government- including branches such as the IRS contine to harrass and arrest medical marijuana industries that are trying their best to operate within state law. Furthermore- they have pressured both banks and credit card companies to not deal with the industry.

Fourth: While the federal government has largely lived up to their promise not to after patients- they have failed to do anything to help them. A patient travelling (for family, work or pleasure) outside of their state is still subject to arrest and incarrceration- even if in another state that has legalized medical marijuana.

 

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in drug policy, drug use, obama, politics, ron paul, social, tea party and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Majority of Americans Favor Legalizing Marijuana

  1. Well there’s an issue for Democrats to use to win independent voters. The only mystery is why they haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

