Trayvon, Zimmernman, and What Google Auto-Complete Tells Us


I frequently start typing a search into Google to see how it auto-completes the phrase. It gives an interesting look into what people are searching for on a subject- often revealing various biases or perceptions.

So, this morning I tried :

Trayvon Martin was a“… and the top 4 auto-completes were: Thug, criminal, punk, killed.

Changing to “Trayvon Martin is” returns : a thug, a criminal, not innocent, a punk.

Now, doing the same for George Zimmerman we get:

George Zimmerman was” : attacked, he found guilty, screaming for help, innocent

and “George Zimmerman is” : innocent, not white, guilty, a hero

Personally, I find these results both telling…and disturbing.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trayvon, Zimmernman, and What Google Auto-Complete Tells Us

  1. Barneysday says:

    This just continues to speak to how far we come away from true journalism, and now live with sensationalism as its replacement.

Leave a Reply

