The Sad Irony of the Rights War on Food Stamps


Hint: their supporters are overwhelmingly represented in those taking government assistance.

I spent years growing up in a very coservative republican farming community. A hard working but poor community- and one whose financial backbone- dairy farming, relied heavily on government subsidies and government price guarantees. And still- a huge portion of the population was on food stamps and other form of evil government handouts. And I was one of the only kids in school who wasn’t getting the reduced or free school lunches.

And just look at the statistics. And the evidence. Not only is it the deep red states that overwhelmingly take far more in federal dollars from these very programs then they put in, they are the main states that actually tend to hire employees to make sure as many people are enrolled as possible- so that it is the feds- and the american taxpayer, who are paying for their failed state policies.

And these states also often lead in giving massive tax breaks to corporations to bring in “jobs”. Which then tends to lead to them also leading in minimum wage and sub living wage jobs, which of course then leads to employed americans who still need government assistance to meet their basic needs.

And of course we are also talking states that have the proud honor of leading in the field of substandard education. leading to an unskilled and unprepared workforce and population.

Leading in abstinence only education and by extension it would seem in teen pregnancies.

Not to mention the long history of both outright and veiled racism and racial inequality. (but of course- the, ahem, “african americans” and “latinos” simply don’t want to work and/or are inferior and lazy- and their situation has nothing to do with the long and continuing tradition of oppression.

 

Anyway- I think the democrats should step back and let the right dig their own grave. Because it increasingly seems the only chance America has to save itself is to let the right prove, once and for all, how big a failure their policies are. (I mean really- thing back to 2007/ McCaim/Palin as the republican ticket? Really? They *knew* their policies had so completely destroyed america their only hope was to have a democrat take office- because they knew damn well that much of the blame, and much of the snowballing failure, will fall on the shoulders of the next president. (But damned if Obama didn’t start to turn things around quickly- leading to a full out assault by the right to ensure that things didn’t get better under a democrat).

And for anyone who thinks this is new, or that things can change- just look at the rights actions during the Carter or Clinton years following years of reublican dominance (and the problems they created).

These decades of yo-yo effect do not serve us well. And I am increasingly convinced our ownly chance to survive and thrive is to allow the right to totally destroy our country, and then for the left to fix it after the fall.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in 1%, obama, politics, rand paul, romney, social, taxes, tea party and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sad Irony of the Rights War on Food Stamps

  1. thirdnews says:

    “And just look at the statistics. And the evidence”

    You must have forgotten the link

    • Actually no. While sometimes I do feel providing links to research is appropriate (as in the case of established peer reviewed scientific journals, or an article or research o which my post is largely based- In general I feel it is better for people to do their own research if they are so inclined.

      I know I can produce solid links to support my position. And I’m sure I could find links to challenge it. But maybe, just maybe if someone is actually intrigued enough to research it on their own (and skip the “oh- I know that site so they must hold the truth” mentality) maybe they will learn something new, maybe even something I missed and come back to share it.

  2. List of X says:

    Unfortunately, letting Republicans destroy the country so that the left could fix it would only work in theory. The left will still be blamed for the destruction by large minority of Republicans, if not outright majority. In case you’ve missed that, 29% of Louisiana Republicans blamed Obama for poor Katrina response, and 44% more weren’t sure if they should blame Bush or Obama more.

Leave a Reply

