R.I.P.- Alexander “Sasha” Shulgin


The workd has lost a rare and great soul…

Sasha is probably best known as “The Godfather of Ecstasy”. The man who rediscovered the drug MDMA. And who saw it’s great potential for therapeutic use and so opted to turn on the psychiatric community to it rather then to profit from it.

He then went on to create, and to trial on himself, hundreds of pehethylamines and tryptamines. Writing the books Pihkal and Tihkal, again giving away is intellectual property for free to the world. Famous for his “Magical Half Dozen” – the substances DOM, ¬†Mescaline, 2C-b, 2C-E, 2C-T-2, and 2C-T-7.

Luckily, after decades of prohibition he lived to see the rebirth of Psychedelic Science. With MAPS actually running government approved studies using MDMA to treat PTSD.

He was a brilliant and gentle man. One who believed in cognitive liberty, not only the right to explore our own minds but that often the solutions to our own problems were to be found in doing so. A man who could have become very wealthy if he had taken the results of his work in a different direction, but who chose another form of richness- the richness one receives by sharing your love and work.

I would not be who I am today if it were not for Sasha. Not just because of what I learned from the use of many of his creations. But also because of the example he set in both his words and his actions. A rare man indeed- he will be missed.

MAPS

Erowid

Shulgins Facebook Page

Shulgin Research Site

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in drug policy, drug use, politics, religion, social and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

