Eat your (psychedelic) mushrooms- they’re good for your brain


So says the evidence presented from a brain mapping project using psilocybin in the journal Human Brain Mapping.

hbm22562-fig-0002

 

Just in time for Independence Day, we get a good dose of science in support of Cognitive Liberty.  In short the study found the psychedelic trip of magic mushrooms to be similar to a “waking dream” that caused people to have increased brain activity in areas related to emotions and memory for months afterward.

An article on the study at the Washington Post is here. The study can be read in the journal Human Brain Mapping here and it can be read or downloaded in PDF form here. The press release can be read here.

 

Some of the organizations that had a role in enabling this research are: The Beckley Foundation, the Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies (MAPS), and The Heffter Institute

 

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in drug policy, drug use, medical cannabis, medical marijuana, religion, science, social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eat your (psychedelic) mushrooms- they’re good for your brain

  1. Barneysday says:

    Little minds and prejudicial “beliefs” have left many things out of the realm of research for far too long.

  2. Pingback: substancja cz.3 : do trzech razy sztuka | Radio Na Fali

Leave a Reply

