The Sad Intolerance of the Right Wing Nuts


So yesterday I had posted this blog on the ignorant and disturbing discussion going on at an article at WND, essentially a discussion insisting that Obama had brought the Ebola infected aid workers to the US as part of his plan for destroying america.

And so, I spent some time in the thread at WND refuting much of the nonsense with actual facts, information, and logic. And of course I was subjected to name calling, F*** Y**’s, people teling me they hoped I died, etc etc (all of which, btw, are actually violations of the TOS of posting comments there). Out of a couple dozen main commentors that I took any issue with their claims, only 1 actually tried to respons with some facts.

So of course, my account was banned there, and all my posts deleted. Never mind that I kept things civil. Did not violate the TOS. Did nothing but challenge hate and fear with logic and facts.

I find it very sadly ironic that these people are so intolerant of dissent, and so very afraid of facts and logic that they choose to make it disappear rather then deal with it.

And it is doubly disturbing that these are the very people, a tiny minority in this country, who because they scream so loud and have such potential for violence, are destroying this nation. (and I’ll share one of the comments made there, seconded by others, that truly disturbed me. That god, guns, and family were all more important then this country. Yes, this said by the great self-proclaimed “true patriots”). It was actually one of many comments, that if something similar had come out of the mounth of a liberal, would be a hanging offence to these people. Proof of treason,

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in christian values, obama, politics, rand paul, religion, science, social, tea party and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Sad Intolerance of the Right Wing Nuts

  1. bethbyrnes says:

    I just looked at your “About” info and other than the fact that I am a health nut and do not use any non-food substances, I have a pretty similar approach. I have written about these right-wing, anti-science, fanatics extensively on my site. What a mess this country is. The rest of the world sees us as fat, stupid and violent. Sigh!

  2. talesfromthelou says:

    It’s like debating with Homer Simpson, no?

  3. List of X says:

    Don’t WND’s TOS specifically ban all liberal opinions already?

  4. btg5885 says:

    Thanks for sharing this. Keep sticking to facts, civility and high road. That is all you can do. I use this analogy – you should never argue with a street preacher as if he/ she is zealous enough to stand on a corner, they are less than open minded, in general. The internet allows street preachers to gather to together with like minds and anyone with a contrary opinion is not welcomed. Yet, always remember what my parents told me, the louder someone shouts, the worse his/ her argument. The same could be said for name calling and labeling. Thanks for sharing your story. BTG

    • Hi, and thanks. I largely agree. But I am a strong believer in truth- and it’s ability to stick, somewhere and sometimes, in a corner of the mind of even the most delsuional. And that that truth has immense power to eat away at lies eventually…

      And frankly, sometimes I wonder if it is not, ultimately, more effective to butt my head against the wall of intolerance then it is to preach to the choir…

      • btg5885 says:

        I won’t stop butting, if you won’t. Keep on pushing the case with data and civility. After some interchanges with legislators, who have also name called me and questioned my arguments with more fervor than fact, an attorney friend observed it seemed like the roles were reversed as I was being far more civil than the legislator.

Leave a Reply

