Truthy


So if you haven’t heard of it yet, Truthy is a project being run out of Indiana State University, with help from a $1 million grand from the National Science Foundation.

It is an attempt to map and help understand the dissemination of information, and disinformation on Twitter. It is currently focused on politics, news, and social movements. And part of the project appears to be to try and understand how misinformation, disinformation, and hate speech spread. Whether “organically” or via organized intent.

And so, if you google Truthy, and especially if you choose news results- you will see the right- and especially the far right- up in arms about this (and yes, Godwin’s Law has already struck- with lots of foaming at the mouth comparing this to Nazi Germany).

And I guess, in an odd way- I understand their outrage. A tool then can track and explain the dissemination of lies. Of hate speech. Of disinformation campaigns…should be truly worrying to those that predominantly rely on such things for their existence. Oh the irony!

I, for one, will be watching this project evolve (and, being a non-twitterer (non-tweeter?) will be trying to understand it a little better.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Truthy

  1. btg5885 says:

    You don’t have to look very hard for the hypocrisies that abound in politics and political news. My favorite line comes from Senator John Kyl when caught in a lie. He said roughly the problem is you should not confuse my statements with the truth.

    • Indeed.
      But this willingness to LIE is deeply affrcting our country. We are seemingly incapable of having an honest discussion on anything anymore. And to be clear- we are not talking about differences of opinion. Of varying ideals or beliefs. But discussions on such destroyed by outright lies.
      I mean, what were the latest poll figures I saw on the number of americans who actually believe WMD’s were found in Iraq? Or those that believe there is evidence Saddam Hussein played a role in 9/11? Or far more current- the x-rays supposedly showing the Ferguson police officer that killed MB had an “orbital eye fracture”? The same x-rays now proven to be stock photos? (and the “source” on these was none other then the “dumbest man on the internet”. Aka Gateway Pundit. Aka Jim Hoft.

      Time and time again we see any hope of honest discussion destroyed by those willing to lie- and thus remove a susbantial portion of americans from the discussion.

      I guess this should come as no surprise. The 3 branches of our government- the executive, the legislative, and especially the judiciary (see, see- I can name all 3- I’m smarter then Rick Perry!!!) have been willing, and downright eager to use lies and half-truths to advance their agendas.
      I don’t know. I can’t help but feel that the truthseekers- on all sides of the political spectrum- are being drowned out by those so willing to embrace lies that support their preconceived notions,
      I mean, really. I see everyday right-wing(nuts) insisting the country is in decline because of Obama. But I can’t help but feel we are doomed because of those willingly to lie- and those willing to blindly accept the lies.

    • List of X says:

      Was it the genius phrase “not intended to be a factual statement”?

      • btg5885 says:

        I believe that was the actual phrase. I would have loved to have been a reporter with a chance to follow-up the statement with a question.

  2. Barneysday says:

    Carl Bernstein of Watergate fame claims its impossible to get to the truth today. The best anyone can do is get as close as possible to what the truth might be. I wish this project well, and one can easily tell how close they are getting to the truth by the volume of denials coming from the right.

    well done

  3. List of X says:

    I’ll have to check it out. Up to now, I just used Snopes.

Leave a Reply

