Immigration. And Capitalism.


It seems recently I’ve started seeing a bit of a new trend. Or the beginnings of one (if it goew well for them I suppose). Broaching the topic of legal immigration, not just illegal immigration.

And yet…like so many issues in our world, we focus on the symptoms, not the root causes.

And one of the root causes, and one of the few we as americans really have a place discussing, is capitalism.

Because let’s address the elephant in the room here. If corporations and businesses had to pay at least a living wage for the jobs they must have done in order to run their companies     we would not see such an iflux of immigrants willing to do such underpaid jobs. It is easy to view jobs as unskilled. As unimportant. And thus deserving of low wages. But the reality is- these jobs, no matter how menial- are part of the process. One that if not done- the whole system breaks down. (think about it for a moment- is any bussiness going to pay someone, no matter how small an amount, to do a job that ultimately is not crucial to the sucess of the company? ) Really, bringing in the harvest, cleaning the hotel room, hauling lumber, concrete, rebar,…cleaning dishes, mopping the floors and taking out the trash may not be glamorous jobs. They may not be highly skilled jobs (although they all require some skills- and I’d wager some of them are ones you or me could not do efficiently), but they are jobs that must be done so that other jobs can be done.

So maybe the issue lies in that our capitalist system has created this false reality. We all want low cost goods and services. Our employers want us to have access to low cost goods and services because that reduces the living wage they must bay their more skilled workers. And by depressing the wages all around they increase their profits.

And I can’t help but feel that there are powerful forces- business and political, that would much rather play the american people vs the immigrants. Rather then have people start to question the root causes. The system that sees so much of america, at best, getting slightly ahead…more often then ot at best getting by. While the rich keep getting richer, and richer…and richer.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in 1%, obama, politics, rand paul, romney, ron paul, social, tea party and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

