The Day the Music Died ( R.I.P. Ipod Classic )


So on september 9th, after Apples announcement of the New Iphone and Aplle Watch, they quietly and uncerimonously removed the Ipod Classic from their store.

The Ipod. The device that was announced a month after the 9/11 attacks. A device that changed so much…

Like so many Apple products of the Steve Jobs era, they were not the first to market. And of course, not the cheapest. But, as they did so many times since, they were the first to get it right. And to be fair- maybe it had something to do with the timing- as it did come at a time when many were happy to slip on their earbuds, tune out the world, and slip into their own joyous little world fo a while.

But kudos where they are due- the Ipod changed so much. You could, for the first time really, have all* your music with you wherever, whenever. ( * if memory serves the original was 5GB. The recently killed off version was 160GB. My music library exceeds 100GB. So maybe not all your music, but… )

And I remember as they became ubiqutous. It seemed like everywhere you went, you saw people with their earbuds in and a smile on their face. And I remember it’s impacts on culture. From sharing your ipod becoming a new level of intimacy in relationships (let’s be honest- the music library one has reveals a LOT about the person), to what became an almost standard question in interviews of high powered people “What’s on your Ipod? ”

Of course there are still ipods available- the shuffle, nano, and touch. But none evoke the original itteration of the device that changed so many things. And none, I’ll add, which have the capacity for my music library.

I will sorely miss the Ipod. And yes, I’ll admit- I just ordered my new Iphone 6- and partially because of the death of the classic I did order the 128GB model, which should hold my music library. (I’ll take the chance to add- I am currently still using an Iphone 4. pre-siri. a 4+ year old phone that’s on its last legs). But I like stand alone devices. Ones that do one thing and do them well. I liked being able to have the Ipod to plug into my home stereo. Or to transfer between our vehicles. To plug into the jobsite radio. To be able to load it out to friends when they went on long trips and wanted some fresh music. None of these which I can really do with an Iphone. As personal as the Ipod was- it also had a great sharing component to it- sharing not only your music but a small piece of yourself.

And a notte to Apple. I know Ipod sales have been declining for years. But, if you had given us some notice the Ipod Classic was going the way of the dodo… I would have bought 5. Maybe ten of them. Just for myself and families personal use. Maybe a few more for future gifts. And judging by the fact they are already sold out at ALL my local stores. And the prices people are paying on ebay- a  LOT of other people feel the same way.

I feel like I have lost a friend.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Day the Music Died ( R.I.P. Ipod Classic )

  1. btg5885 says:

    Not quite the same moment captured by Don McLean, but it is the end of an era.

    • I don’t know. While Dons song captured the deat of a musical icon…in some ways I feel this captures the death of music.
      Maybe I’m just becoming a grumpy old man. But in some ways this feels like the death of people wanting to hold on to music for years. Decades. To still be able to find both pleasure…and meaning in it time and again.
      I’ve never really been a fan of radio- at least not mass market radio. And I’m not impressed with what I have seen of streaming music.
      And I’d say I discovered a lot about myself over the years- from the music I collected and then abandoned for one reason or another…as well as the music I moved past only to return to some years later.
      But, what do I know. I still tend to collect books…

      • btg5885 says:

        What is interesting is there are so many non-American performers who do American rock, blues and jazz better than we do. There are eclectic mixes that blend other cultures with American styles that are interesting.

Leave a Reply

