No Good Deed Goes Unpunished- Homeless Camp Featured in Article “Cleared” by Police


I’m at a loss for words. So I’ll let others tell the story.

Just a couple days ago Mother Jones published an article online about “The Jungle” – a homeless camp in the heart of wealthy Silicon Valley. Read it here .

And today I see reported in the SF papers it’s been “cleared” by the police. Read story here .

Too depressing for words…

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in 1%, christian values, obama, politics, social, taxes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Good Deed Goes Unpunished- Homeless Camp Featured in Article “Cleared” by Police

  1. btg5885 says:

    I was reading for what accommodations were made and did not find any. In an area with so much, you would think they could spend some money on sheltering longer term in apartment like facilities with supportive services. Depending on the needs and type of homeless people – chronic, acute, men, women and families, veterans, disableds, mentally ill or substance abusers, there are various solutions that end up being more effective and inexpensive to a community. With our homeless families, we provide temporary shelter until they can move into a subsidized apartment based on their income level (ability to pay some). Whereas in a chronic men homeless situation, a single site facility with rooms works well. But, both need social worker support.

    This appears to have been just rousting of a camp, which solves nothing, but a temporary eyesore which will move elsewhere. BTG

  2. Barneysday says:

    It was just a rousting by the police to make people feel good. A similar action regularly occurs in Fresno, but the last time it happened, the Police threw everyones things away. After a long law suit, the city had to reimburse these people, hundreds of thousands of dollars. It seems to me these people are aren’t hurting anyone, they are there mostly as victims of the economy, and should be just left alone. In Vancouver, BC, they have dedicated sites for people to stay, and in addition, have certain public housing available to them. Every new builder there has to set aside so many apartments for low cost living.

    And yet we claim to be an advanced county. Not!!!

    Great reminder post.

Leave a Reply

