Are You A Racist?


racist_fade

So I was reading an excellent article over at Mother Jones: “The Science of Why Cops Shoot Young Black Men”  and it mentioned the often disturbing results people get when they take the Harvard Iplicit Association Test.

The author mentions first taking the test at Understanding Prejudice but with a little digging I found that at the Harvard site here .

I highly recommend spending the 10 minutes or so it takes to take the test.

While reading the article, and reading about the test it made me think of a blog post I did a while back: “I am a racist, a hopmphobe, a sexist” .

I must say, I was a little surprised after taking the tests, that they showed virtually no implicit “isms” for me. But it does fit with some of what I have said before- that many of the “isms” I feel I have lurking in my brain are not truley based on race/gender/sexual preference etc…but more about the sameness or difference in culture, values, and other such factors.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are You A Racist?

  1. btg5885 says:

    Good post. Everyone is possessed with biases and makes generalizations. From the movie South Pacific, Oscar Hammerstein wrote that “Bigotry has to be carefully taught” so that you “hate the people your parents’ hate” by the age of seven or eight. The converse is also true – you can be taught to be open-minded. We must always guard against generalizations and our biases.

    On the good side, younger people are far more tolerant of diversity than older people on race, sexual preference, ethnicity, etc. That is good for our future. On the bad side, the media is biased toward conflict which is what sells. So, when you add that with the Internet and social media where any bigoted asshole can find an audience of like minded folks, the pot is stirred more than it is or needs to be. Plus, you have the “gotcha politics” which frames every issue as a contest that one side wins and one loses. African-Americans boys and police officers being killed are BOTH tragedies. There are no sides.

    So, it behooves more reasonable people to shine lights on bigotry and say this kind of verbiage or behavior is not right. I was thinking of the Westboro church that pickets military funerals as they are against gays in the military, etc. The best defense is when I saw hundreds of people express their constitutional right to stand in front of the Westboro picketers to block the family’s view of them so they could bury their child, father, mother in peace and dignity. These Americans said to these Westboro members, that you have a right to protest, but so do we and we are protesting your bigotry. Sorry for the diatribe, BTG

Leave a Reply

