Jeb Bush Puts $1 Million Cap On Donations (for now)


Think about this for just a moment if you will. JB is so awash in money at the moment he sees fit to put a $1 Million cap on donations- presumably to avoid the specter of “undue influence”

1 Million dollars. From a single donor. More then many americans make in their lifetime. More then those in the upper middle class make in a half decade or more. And let’s be clear- thats make- not have to throw to a political candidate.

Think for a minute about this message. “I’m going to cap donations at $1 Million”.

What ever happened to governance of the people, by the people, for the people?

I’m sorry (no not really) – this is just disgusting. And our country will not get back to a right path until we serious election reform. We need to level the playing field so that ALL americans can be represented- not just the rich. Personally- I believe no individual or corporation should be allowed to donate more then $100. And we should have public funding of elections. And there should be draconian penalties for corporations that “encourage” their employees to give the maximum to a particular candidate.  (and yes- I understand it’s good for corporations to encourage employees to participate in the political process- and such laws would probably hamper this because said corporations have their teams of highly paid lawyers to insist they were just encouraging donations in general- not to a particular candidate/party/issue)

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in potitics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jeb Bush Puts $1 Million Cap On Donations (for now)

  1. btg5885 says:

    I have decided to cap any donations to me at $10. I don’t want anyone to be obligated to fund my power bill. I guess he believes we are that naive. Unfortunately, we are.

  2. Barneysday says:

    I just can’t believe the arrogance of such a statement, combined with how absolutely “tone deaf” it is to most Americans. He campaigned just a few weeks ago about how the RepubliCANTS have to find a way to help the middle class and the average worker, and then says that his friends are limited to sending him a maximum of $1 million. Can he be any more arrogant???

Leave a Reply

