72 Victims of the War On Drugs- HIV outbreak in Indianna


The Washinton Post has an article on an outbreak of HIV in Austin, Scott County, Indianna. Linked to IV drug use of prescription painkillers. And the early warning signs were there…and ignored. Obvious rampand drug use/addiction. Overdoses. A rise in Hepatitis C and other blood borne diseases from sharing needles.

But of course, the Republican governor and legislature refused the one simple step that could have helped prevent all of this- legalizing needle exchanges. Simply admitting the reality that people are, and would continue to use IV drugs, and providing access to clean needles to reduce the harm to themselves and others.

So now they are talking about allowing needle exchanges- but only in that county. Ignoring the fact that the very same drug problem- and the early warning signs of the serious problems that come with it, exist elsewhere in the state.

And while I hate to bring politics into it, I don’t feel that I can not. Because while drug use and addiction occur everywhere, the rise of opiate/opoid addiction has centered largely in the red states. States that in large part due to republican policies lead the nation in poverty- which is a driver of such addictions. And because of republican policies, it is overwhelmingly red states that have become the main supplier of prescription opoids. And again, because of republican policies, these same states tend to lack much in the way of treatment options, and tend to completely lack, indeed tend to outlaw, the very harm reduction practices that can mitigate many of the problems that come along with such addictions.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in drug policy, drug use and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 72 Victims of the War On Drugs- HIV outbreak in Indianna

  1. Barneysday says:

    I don’t understand the whole “red state” love affair. They are noted for high unemployment, lack of medical care for the poor, poor education outcomes, most homeless, higher crime, and yet the silly voters continue to put them in office. And now, a rising HIV problem. The old axiom is true; we don’t get what we want, we get what we deserve.

    Good post

  2. Reblogged this on #Uniteforsupport and commented:
    This article provides insight into a stark reality for so many. Not just in Indiana, but many, many places around the US. I am in Florida and we are being plagued with IV drug use due to the overprescribed opiates that the government continues to allow distribution of. The heroin epidemic is sweeping our streets and compromising our youth. Although I was once for the removal of needles from the shelves to “prevent” the use of IV drugs, I now live in fear everyday that my son will become HIV positive since the lack of a clean needle hasn’t seemed to curve the use. Instead, they seek out any needle…dirty, or not. What’s the better avenue? Provide the clean needles or continue to allow them to use dirty ones and spread deadly diseases?

Leave a Reply

