What do you own? (or who owns you?)


ok- not a real post- just some random musings to try and get my butt into gear on a series of posts I’ve been kicking around.

So, a little background. I’m mid 40’s. Currently rent my home- but high likelihood we will buy it in the not too distant future. I have zero debt – or near enough (I usually pay off my one credit card in full 10 out of 12 months, more then 50% the other 2). I own outright my (old) truck. And am looking to buy a much newer used truck, outright, in the very near future. I was raised on the old addage of “neither a borrower nor a lender be”; though I’ll admit I do better with the former then the latter.

And I guess I was also raised with the idea that the only things you went into debt for where the home for your family. Possibly growing your business. And, worst case scenario, emergencies for your loved ones.

And I still have, just slightly below, “good” credit. Largely because I never played that game (in my late 20’s, setting up a bank account for the first time in 15+ years, I had a banker tell me to my face “you don’t exist”. (My reply: I’m standing right in front of you ******* )

And yet I have friends with stellar credit. Who have $30K-$100K in student loan debt. Who have cars owned by the bank. Who have insane credit card balances. Who, more then not, earn less a year then I do.

So I guess the thrust of my coming posts will be about the financial “reality” we have built in this country. Where taking on debt is “good” and forgoing it is “bad”- regardless of what it is for. A system where if you aren’t enriching the bankers- you are a bad person.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in politics, society and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What do you own? (or who owns you?)

  1. Barneysday says:

    Oh I love where you are going! Don’t forget that old chestnut, “You can’t get a loan unless you have a loan.” Our credit scoring system is ludicrous at best, where if you pay off a credit balance, and then cancel the card, that goes against your score. Really? Or obtaining a new card can also go against your score, because now you may take on more debt. Or if you carry a few cards with zero balance that goes against you also, because you might max them all out and be overextended.

    In the end, no matter what one tries to do to be a good citizen in solid financial shape, it can be used against you.

    And by the way, if you want to drive the credit agencies bonkers, which I’ve done, then freeze your credit reports. no one can get access, and no one can get a new credit account. Drives ’em nuts!

    Good post!

Leave a Reply

