An interesting piece at Redstate (no really)


Well, sort of…

This Blog Post: 5 Reasons I Will Not Vote For Trump If He Is The GOP Nominee

I am impressed to see a conservative, on a sight so often overrun with nonsense, actually make some decent, rational arguements against Trump.

But of course- the entire thing is negated by this line in the opening paragraphs: “President Obama has been dangerous because he is a partisan (not an ideologue which is actually a positive). He is driven wholly by politics, doing or not doing something because the other side hates it. “

This nonsense just drives me crazy. I am not the biggest Obama fan. In many areas, to be generous, he is in line with northern republicans. He is a far cry from the far left liberal he is often painted as.

And let’s be clear- Obama has been the victim of a congress where the republicans abandoned their duty to our nation- and allowed themselves to be held hostage by a small but loud minority that drug republicans to the right- and ground government to a halt by refusing to do their damn jobs. The spoiled little brat on the playground…”I may be in the minority but if we can’t do things my way I’m taking my ball and going home”. WHAAA!

Honestly- I think the far rights nonsense helped push Obama to do more then he would have otherwise. Without any hope of the normal give and take of a representative goverment…he was foced to take actions so at least something got done in this country.

And- full disclosure: let me say- Erik Eriksons RedState “blog” is a site I love to hate. I’ve been banned numerous times for daring to comment on their anti global climate change articles- and having the brazeness to not only dissect their nonsense but to thouroughly document all of my points (which is far more then I can say for their nonsense).

 

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in obama, politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An interesting piece at Redstate (no really)

  1. Keith says:

    Obama is doing better than the right gives him credit for, but still could be better. Of course, when the facts don’t support your story, tell a different story. When I shared with someone that unemployment was down to 5%, they did not believe me. I said it is reported each month.

    As for your anti-climate change friends, they will continue to have a tough time as the world leaves them behind. If you get another chance, ask them why does Duke Energy have climate change built into their energy and water usage models? Ask them why the World Economic Forum lists climate change as the second greatest risk behind the water crisis over the next ten years? Why are Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerberg and Jeff Bezos spending a $1 Billion each to start The Breakthrough Energy Coalition? And, why is ExxonMobil being sued by the New York Attorney General for misleading investors about the impact of climate change on their business?

    The fossil fuel industry is very scared which is why they have and are pulling out all stops. The renewable energy train has left the station and has passed a tipping point.

    • Keith says:

      I did read the article and some of the comments. It is a good example of the internal challenges the party is experiencing.

    • Indeed. And let’s be clear- Global Climate Change poses a far greater risk then ISIS, Iran, “Illegal immigrants” combined.
      And “they” whine about “the costs”…never mind that the costs will be far greater by doing nothing. And of course- they seem to think the costs of a massive border wall. Multi-billion dollar wars. Billions spent for a virtual army to round up and deport “illegals…well…that’s all do-able.
      And does anyone else see the irony? These anti “big government” folks are actually opposed to corporations having to pay the fair cost of their actions- while they expect that all evil big government to ultimately pick up the tab…

      • Keith says:

        I agree on the risk. I commented to a Duke Energy official at a forum on our Global Water Crisis after he made the remark that fossil fuel energy was still cheaper to produce than solar. I said I would like to see a Total present value cost comparison which included health care cost, environmental degradation cost, litigation cost and coal ash maintenance cost under both – the result in terms of what is most costly may change. By the way, a key reason for renewables is water usage, which solar and wind do not need. Fossil fuel needs to burn water into steam and there is evaporation loss, as what goes back in the river is 2% less than what is taken out. Plus, fracking takes a huge amount of water that cannot be reused.

Leave a Reply

