Trumps assault on the 1st amendment


This should concern everyone- especially much of his base- the self appointed protectors of the constitution.

Anyway- a week or so ago Trump declared he would drastically change fredom of the press laws. Making it far easier to sue for “falsehoods”. And of course, that he himself would sue, sue, sue.

As it stands now, the plaintiff must show that publishers knowingly and with mailce published falsehoods. Essentially he wants to flip this around- so the publisher must prove their statements are completely true. (Now- ponder this: would the likes of Breitbart, the Blaze, the Drudge Report, or Fox News still be in existence if such a law existed during Obama’s terms ? Or Clintons? )

And, after his latest issues at his rallies- he has called for police to arrest protesters at his rallies. People exercising a fundemental constiutional right. And he did so with malice- explicitly wanting these people to have “criminal” records that would interfere with the rest of their lives. (although I gues he IS a little unclear on the difference between misdemeanor and felony, and the large number of people- including Bernie Sanders, who have been arrested for political dissent and gone on to sucessful lives).

 

Regardless- we are seeing a man who wants to warp the world to fit HIS arrogant…and let’s face it- extremely insecure, world. Realities. And Constiution be damned.

The only thing worrying me more in this world right now more then Donald Trump… is Ted Cruz. And that’s because- for all those truly big issues I need to be worrying about… in our country and in our world… either one of them will make them so much worse.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trumps assault on the 1st amendment

  1. List of X says:

    If only Trump would let us test out his proposed laws by suing Donald Trump for any misleading and offensive statements he’s made, and making him prove those statements in court.

    • Ha. indeed.

      Well- you must admit- it IS very telling of who Trump is- a man who has spent decades abusing the justice system and ourr nations laws- both to insulate himself from responsibility and to ruin those who oppse him.
      And not unlike his recent statements on worker visas. They’re wrong, should be illegal, but hey- I’m a businessman, so I will take advantage of every loophole I can to get richer- regardless of whether I believe it is wrong. Presidential material indeed…uh-huh.

Leave a Reply

