Will Trump End Up Proving the Founding Fathers Right?


The people do not elect the president of the US – the Electoral College does. And while there are numerous reasons why it was set up this way- a main reason was the fear that an eneducated and uninformed populace could be taken advantage of by a dangerous but charismatic candidate.

Currently 29 states, in theory, bind their Electors to vote according to the popular vote. 21 states have no such rules.

And even in the states that, in theory, bind their electors, violating this is generally, at worst, a misdemeanor and a small fine. And legal scholars generally agree that, if challenged, the binding of electors by states would be held unconstitutional.

So, regardless of how the next months turn out- we could find ourselves in a situation where we don’t know who is president until the electoral vote is certified in early 2017. And quite possibly, a nightmare situation where a candidate challenged the election – choosing a state with a court most to their liking, in hopes that without a majority in the Supreme Court- the lower court ruling would stand.

 

Interesting times…

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in donald trump and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

