Can you identify this graph? The untalked about truth of spending, debt, and countless other things


maps - census - US population growth since 1790

 

Is this a graph of people on welfare? Reliance on government? The national debt? Federal spending? No- it’s none of them, and- it’s all of them.

It is in fact a graph of US population growth. And it is the elephant in the room we refuse to talk about.

Whether we are talking about educating our citizens. Providing infrastructure from roads and bridges to airports. Managing the uses of our national parks, forests, and other public lands. The military. Covering the costs of our nations businesses- whether storing nuclear fuel, dealing with polution, building them roads and ports, negotiating with foreign countries or using our military to protect their interests there, or paying for the healtcare of those who gave their working lives to these companies to never have made enough to cover their retirement. To…well- you get the picture.

But population growth- both in our country and the world is one of the many political third rails. Something we just don’t talk about.

And by failing to talk about it we don’t figure it in to the discussion on nearly every other apect of our lives- and our government. Despite the huge impact it has on everything we do discuss.

About drugsandotherthings

I am a criminal. Because I have used cannabis and psychedelics extensively. I have tried many other drugs, but never cared for the uppers, downers, or dissociatives. I love craft beer, and absinthe, but don't care much for alcohols effects- which quite frankly, are boring and dangerous. Science is my religion. I am in my 40's, and have travelled extensively. And often forced myself outside of my confort zone. I am employed, a respected member of my communtiy, an animal lover, an environmentalist, a political junkie, and the realities I have experienced continue to push me further to the left of the political spectrum.
This entry was posted in catholics, christian values, environment, obama, politics, religion, ron paul, social, taxes, tea party and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment